hash_bucket()

Small piece on the history of personal computing

Posted on: July 25, 2007

I didn’t write this, but I kind of whish I did. The main topic of the following article is actually on the reasons for Con Kolivas retirement from Linux kernel development, but on the first page he also talks about one of the most inspiring and fun periods of the development of the personal computer as most people know it today. I too was active in those days, even though I was too young to think very deeply about those things at the time, and I have been wanting to write something about it for some time. As with so many things I never got around to it, but here’s a piece that comes sort of close to my own oppions.

 http://apcmag.com/6735/interview_con_kolivas

Please note that I am talking about the first part of the article, but please read on for a fascinating tale of one hackers experience in the ‘free’ world of linux development.

Leave a Reply

.

This blog has no clear focus. It has a focus though, it's just not very clear at the moment...

Dev Env.

Visual Studio 2008 Prof / NUnit / Gallio / csUnit / STools (ExactMagic) / doxygen / dxCore / TypeMock / TestDriven.net / SequenceViz / CLRProfiler / Snoop / Reflector / Mole / FxCop / Subversion / TortoiseSVN / SlikSVN / CruiseControl.net / msbuild / nant

Blog Stats

  • 81,304 hits